Trip in Kenya, Uncategorized

Finally Here

So it took me forever, but I’m finally in Kenya! I meant to post at least once more before I came,  but with finals and being sick I put it off.

This is my first day here, I spent the night at Cindi’s house (the woman who runs the girl’s school I am working at) and later today we are heading up to the school in Keragoya. I don’t have any pictures at the moment, but hopefully I can post some later on today.

Last night, Cindi and her son picked me up at the Nairobi airport. It was raining really hard, and for a moment I wondered if I got the seasons wrong and it was the rainy season! Cindi assured me it was not, but that it was just raining. My first experience on the highway was slightly scary; there are no traffic lights. Her son, Lorenzo, told me that there are only three in the downtown, and otherwise driving is kind of a “free-for-all” (which, when looked up on the Merriam-Webster dictionary, is described as an uncontrolled fight or competition that involves many people).

Instead of traffic lights, the entirety of the road (that I saw) was composed of merging lanes and roundabouts. On the way to their house we saw two busses that had ran into ditches, most likely because of the rain, and they told me they had seen three on the way to pick me up. I found the whole thing rather exciting (sorry mom). I couldn’t tell if people were honking to let others know not to hit them, or because they were cussing them out in a controlled road rage.

In any case, by the time we got to their home, it was 11 o’clock their time, 4 o’clock my time. I was pretty tired, so I ended up going to sleep pretty quickly. And now it is morning, and I am off to find me some breakfast.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Finally Here

  1. Tammy says:

    Glad you made it there safe Annie. That traffic sounds like Vietnam’s. Hope you don’t have to experience driving theough it like I did haha. I miss you already and be safe. I’ll be checking this regularly.

  2. Price Wright says:

    I am praying for you every night my little cousin. I admire your courage, your devotion and your confidence. Let your light SHINE! You are open to HIS will and that is the way to be! My Church is your church, My God is your God and My Heart is with you!Love you. Be safe.

Leave a Reply

